Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

The One Footwork Move you Need in the Rear Court

You will notice this video is longer. Hopefully, that helps.

#1. Split step

#2. Step out on your left leg and use your left toes to pivot the whole body as you also skip on your left leg. We do this to cover more ground.

Some coaches like to say lead with your left leg for this move. I like to point out you need to use it to pivot as well.

#3. Land on the right and immediately use a scissor kick.

#4. Chasse to return to base.

*It’s important to realize that in this case, I am just returning to base. However, if I am smashing, I would be following directly to cover the return of the smash according to my own prediction. As I smash, I am predicting the return already, straight or cross, land accordingly (facing to go straight or facing to go cross) and directly move the body in that direction. I will not be going back to base.

A short post today, but full of enough information for you to practice.

Go slowly at first until you become comfortable and then speed up once you got the pattern down.

As always, play some badminton and until next time!

Thanks for reading Grow Your Badminton with Me! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Grow Your Badminton with Me
Grow Your Badminton with Me
Authors
Anca Gaspar